An Excerpt From “Cancer: It Is Not For Everyone”

The stage darkens Cancer Cell #1 exits and
Bonita and Chance enter. The lights come
back up and A ring girl crosses the
stage with a card saying “Opening Round.”
Chance and Bonita are sitting downstage
left in two chairs. The rest of the stage is
dark. They are oblique to the audience.
Chance has a small gym bag next to his
chair.

Chance

Holy smokes. Can you believe this?

Bonita

I know. Three weeks ago we thought you had a stomach virus, now it’s cancer.

Chance

No, not that. Look at this room.

Bonita

What do you mean?

Chance

It’s so beige and soothing.

Bonita

So what’s wrong with that?

Chance

I don’t know. You think there’d be posters or art or something that was … I don’t know … defiant.

Bonita

What?

Chance

You know like a big Sgt. Rock kind of mural with his hands around some cancer cell’s throat. (Chance changes his voice) I’ll kill you, you bastard. (Chance’s voice goes back to normal) You know, something that reeks of commitment and victory … not the good try.

Bonita

Shut up! They’ll hear you. They’ll think you’re as crazy as you are.

Chance

Now, that’s not very nice.

Bonita

You’re being insane.

Chance

I’m just talking… waiting until Dr. Wonderful gets here.

Bonita

You don’t like him?

Chance

He’s fine. I’m just being a jerk.

Bonita

Good, because he just might save your live.

Chance

If he doesn’t and I die, I want you to throw yourself on my casket at the funeral and make a scene. You know, wail about how young I was. .

Bonita

You’re not that young.

Chance

If you don’t I’ll haunt you.

Bonita

You haunt me already.

Chance

Good one.

Bonita

Just shut up or I’ll cry.

(c) 2014 William J. Potter all Rights Reser ved

One thought on “An Excerpt From “Cancer: It Is Not For Everyone”

Leave a Reply

