Workforce Pro Needs Help: Fretting Over Veterans

It’s killing me. All these vets and all these jobs. How can I get them together!!

Tick – tock.

Okay I posted a super fantastic post to Twitter

Tick – tock.

Where is my legion of followers? Doesn’t the world know that every utterance and grunt I dispense is profundity? I realize 140 characters is a challenge for your average man, but not me.

Tick – tock.

Still no followers. I wonder if there is something wrong with the Internet today. Hmmmm. Nope! My Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders link works fine; so does my movie starlet without makeup feed. Jeez. Could it be I am not the draw I think I am? Yech!

Hmmmm.

Oh! Hi. I didn’t see you walk in. You got a minute? I have a great idea, but somehow, it just isn’t working as well or as quickly as I’d like.

Here is the thing – I am worried about the recently separated first term soldiers, sailors, airmen, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen (I guess that’s what you call them). This group is known – to workforce geeks like me – collectively as Gulf War Era II veterans.

This group scares me.

These folks are perhaps the finest job candidates to come down the pike in a gagillion years and yet their unemployment rate is higher than any other group of veterans. No only that, they’re still coming and probably will for the next two years.

What a great boon for Delaware employers if they only knew how to access this multitalented group. It would rain money on the businesses hiring these great Americans.

But the problem is, “Where the heck are these veterans?”

I was thinking they were on Instagram and Twitter job searching from those platforms, so that’s where I am. You know—posting, and posting, and posting some more.

I’m hash-tagging as fast as I can type #dehiresvet and #netde, and #dejobs and not a nibble – not a follower, nothing, bupkus, zero. Nothing but blistered fingertips from all that typing.

What would you do?

I mean, Egypt launches a revolt, restaurateurs are hiding under their tables for fear of a single bad online review, and sports stars with nothing substantive to say are treated like sages. Meanwhile, I’m trying to connect veterans with services and employers and I’m the lone voice in the wilderness.

Wait! Oh that was nothing, just Kim and Kanye with their thoughts on cold fusion.

This is killing me.

My plan is a hashtag campaign focusing on #dehiresvets, which would bring together job seekers, Delaware DOL subject matter experts, and employers to a single place where they could get to know each other.

Who knows? Maybe set up a few workshops; get some resumes sparking; and maybe help employer’s cash in on the great talent bulge coming this way.

What do you think? How would you do it?

Leave a Reply

