Reedy Point Players Read My Newest Script and Do Whale of A Job

From L: Ruth Brown as the Archangel Michael, Dan Davis as Marley, and Erin Miller read my newest script at Reedy Point Players Fundraiser
From L: Ruth Brown as the Archangel Michael, Dan Davis as Marley, and Erin Miller read my newest script at Reedy Point Players Fundraiser

I’m a bit behind on blogs and all things social media. So I’ll try and catch you all up with a series of blogs today.

First things, first I guess.

Last night, at the tail end of a windswept mid-Atlantic day, I hopped in my now infamous red pickup truck and made the 25-minute journey to the Delaware City to hear my newest play “Memento Mori: Why Marely Saved Scrooge” read at a fundraiser for the Reedy Point Players.

It was the first reading of this 19 page one-act.

The Delaware City Community Center, 250 5th St., is where the “Players” make their home and it has all the earmarks of a small Jr. High School; complete with undersized basketball court and raised stage.

It was really very cool and very appropriate.

About 30 people were there to support the Players, whom were raising money to travel to Maryland for the Eastern States Theater Association annual festival, The Delaware City group has a show in the finals (more on that in my next post).

To help raise money, the Players wanted to have readings of locally written plays. My playwriting group was asked, so I sent them my piece. Eventually somebody decided that my piece would do.

And do it did.

Memento Mori, a phrase that is hard to literally translate, but generally means that each of us stands alone on judgment day, sets the tone for this one act which tries to explain why Jacob Marley “procured” reclamation for Ebenezer Scrooge. BTW – it is not a Christmas story.

Anyway, the action takes place between Marley, St. Peter, and Michael the Archangel.

Erin Miller played St. Peter, Ruth Brown played Michael, and Dan Davis played Marley. They were delightful and brought the script to life.

With any public reading of a new script, you have to count your blessings. The audience laughed when they were supposed to and didn’t when they weren’t supposed to. That’s always a good sign. And as always happens in the collaborative world of Community Theater, the actors made choices I didn’t expect and dropped a couple of lines that were probably better left off. Erin chose to use a New York accent while Marley chose to stay with the English and Michael stayed with something closer to home. Great choices all!

When it was done the audience applauded – not out of politeness, but more – I hope and think – from appreciation.

The Reddy Point Players were very kind to read my script and I am totally thankful.

4 thoughts on “Reedy Point Players Read My Newest Script and Do Whale of A Job

  1. Congratulations
    How very parochial
    St Paul’s and Hendricken would be quick to basque in your reflected glory. I know that I’m basking now. You make us all look good From a distance but not by comparison.
    pat

    Like

    • Pat: they are very kind. It is my third dramatic reading; the second in six months (three different pieces). Now is the heavy lifting — going back and rewriting and fixing mistakes you discover when real actors read your work. I have a full length and the one act to redo.

      It is a lot of work, but it is a form of art I guess.

      Like

  2. Awesome, Bill! I enjoyed doing the closed reading of “Memento Mori” at NEXT… I wish I had seen the staged reading! Keep ’em coming!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

