If One More Person Tells Me Their Resume I’ll Scream

When I hear these words, or any combination of them I want to get up, go to the nearest window and jump out.

This words are “I have been doing this for _________!” Oh God it aches to hear them.

I am in the middle of writing the new state workforce development plan and part of that process is trying to get people to explain what it is they currently do. I have to ask questions – some of them hard questions and invariably the chest thumping begins.

The other one I love is “I forgotten more than you’ll ever know!” Since I am a pretty smart guy I guess that means the person in front of me is a blithering idiot and was once an intellectual heavy weight.

Sorry he forgot so much – that a shame.

My response to this way of putting me in my place is to say, “Well, I guess I’m just a moron, but you’ll have to bear with me for the moment.”

Here’s the thing, I have been doing stuff for a long time too and I can’t count the number of times I thought I knew something and went back to check and discovered I was wrong.

Just a rant!

Leave a Reply

