An Evening of Yes Music Plus – A Review

yesEver have the experience of thinking you’ve heard every album of a band you’ve followed forever only to find there was a gem hidden out there that you didn’t know about? Or that you‘ve had an album lying around and thought it was one thing, when it ended up being something else?

That’s kind of where I am today.

I’ve been carrying a “Yes” album around in my collection for about ten years entitled “An Evening of Yes Music Plus.” Okay to be fair it isn’t actually an official Yes Album, but a collection of Yes Songs from band members Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman, and Howe.

Back in the late 80’s Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Rick Wakeman, and Steve Howe teamed up for a couple of years and released an album. A fairly big commercial success, but many of we Yes purists called it the Yes, not-Yes album.

Regardless, “An Evening of Yes Music Plus” originally released in 1993, was sitting in my CD collection and I thought it was a shabby collection of Yes song redo’s.

Boy was I wrong. It is a fantastic live album blending a lot old standards in arrangements I had never heard before — including a fascinating acoustic version of Owner Of A Lonely Heart. It is just out of sight!

If I had any advice, I’d tell you to go back and scrub your collections and see what gems you have squirreled away,

One thought on “An Evening of Yes Music Plus – A Review

  1. I LOVE Anderson Bruford Wakeman Howe. That is one of my all time favorite albums. Saw Yes many times in concert. Haven’t followed them after big generator though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

