Old Guy Weightlifting

I’ve been looking and I haven’t been able to find much about weightlifting for people in their 50’s or 60’s.

Since I’ve always enjoyed lifting weights and am still doing it at age 58, I am going to start writing about it. Everything I find out I will tell you.

We will experiment together.

I generally start my workouts with several sets of bench presses. I usually have light, medium, and heavy days. On the light days I’ll use a lot of reps with light weight; medium days I work until I can get about six to eight reps for each set with medium weight; on the heavy days I try to get three reps for a heavy weight.

I break my days up by upper body and lower body.

Upper Body Lower Body
Bench Presses Deadlifts
Flies Squats
Medicine Ball Pushups Lunges
Power Cleans Calf Raises
Upright Rows Leg Curls
Dumbbell Presses Quadriceps Extension
Lateral Raises Planks
Bent Rows Stand ups
French Curls
Tricep Extension
E-Z Curl Bar Curls
Dumbbell Curls
Isolation Curls

Every day a t lunch I either walk, do abdominal work, or stretch.

Leave a Reply

