Reedy Point Players to Stage AR Gurney’s “The Dining Room”

Tables man.

That’s right. Tables man.

Lisa Osicky is directing A.R. Gurney’s play The Dining Room set to be performed November 19, 20, and 21 at the Reedy Point Players in the Delaware City Community Center. And while it isn’t necessarily a Thanksgiving play, it kind of sorta is. It’s at least holiday thematic anyway.

I was walking my dog earlier this morning and while we wandered throughout Newark Delaware, my mind did it’s own wandering to the different hubbub I’ve experienced across dining room tables.

There was one Thanksgiving a million years ago when we invited a stressed Vietnam vet to dinner and for some reason I really can’t remember now, he threw his keys across the room and stomped away. I’m sure my sister was to blame somehow.

I also remember spreading school work over table and inconveniencing everyone in the house, so I could get out of college.

When I was little, I’d hang blankets from the table and make a fort to spy from.

Then there was the big substantive debate across the dining room table about whether UFO’s were real. They are BTW.

That was followed by the equally intense debate between my sister of whether it is better to be a blonde or a brunette. Everything was fine until my mother opined that redheads get the most attention. Even that wasn’t too bad until somebody used the word “vixen” (a female fox BTW) in the debate and the table turned into a war zone.

I remember going to my college girlfriend’s house for an Italian holiday feast and being cross-examined her family as where “Where my people we from.” Again, all occurring at a dining room table.

So like I said. “Tables man.”

The Reedy Point Players production “The Dining Room” brings the funny, sad, ludicrous, and poignant stories we’ve all experienced around dining room tables to life.

Go see it and get your tickets at The Dining Room Tickets in Delaware City, DE, United States (ticketleap.com)

As always masks and vaccination proof required.

Leave a comment